What is Beauty?

images90YMQKHJ

This is a beauty blog, and I love makeup and review,  but tonight I felt like getting a little deep.  Tomorrow we will be back to reviews but I felt it necessary for some reason tonight to talk candidly about what I think beauty is.

What is Beauty?  For everyone it is different.  Growing up, like many teenage girls, I was very insecure.  I thought I needed to be perfect. If I bought the right makeup or colored my hair the right color I thought people would like me better.  And I am ashamed to admit that even at the ripe old age of 30 I still get lost in my head sometimes feeling this way.  I have two children, so I have stretch marks, scars from both C-sections and a lot of times my face is broken out in some kind of zit.  Some days I need makeup to make me feel good about myself and that shouldn’t be the case.

images68LQFWAP

I look at the Kim Kardashians of the world and wonder what happened to society? We covet youth like never before.  What’s wrong with aging gracefully?  Our laugh lines define us in our lifetime.  How often did we smile and squint at the camera to get those crows feet?  To me, beauty is in the way we love our children/husbands/families.  It’s in the boo boos we have had to kiss better, in the dinners we cook every night, and all the diapers we change.  It’s in the kindness we show complete strangers and the care we show our good friends.  It’s the way you love yourself and love others that makes you beautiful.  I will still wear my makeup and still color my hair but most days I will be confident I do not need those things to be beautiful.  What is beauty to you? As always comments are welcome and appreciated.

images6EN3DB4J

Leave a Reply

